March 1, 2024
Spread the love

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took oath for the second time on Thursday after a great victory in the national election. The oath was administered by President of India Ram Nath Kovind.

Over 50 ministers joined him in the swearing-in held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in the presence of 8,000 guests including world leaders, dignitaries, politicians, celebrities and industrialists.

Further, PM Modi’s Council of Ministers took oath at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Among those who are retaining Cabinet portfolios include BJP leaders Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, Nirmala Sitharaman, DV Sadananda Gowda, Piyush Goyal, Prakash Javadekar and Nitin Gadkari.

In addition, Shiromani Akali Dal leader Harsimrat Kaur Badal will be retaining a Cabinet position.

Amit Shah, who is credited with leading the BJP to magnificent victories in election after election, is the most prominent newcomer in PM Modi’s second government. He is likely to handle one of the top four ministries in the cabinet.

Congratulating those who took oath on Thursday, PM Modi said “together, we will work for India’s progress”.

“This team is a blend of youthful energy and administrative experience. It has people who have excelled as Parliamentarians and those who have had distinguished professional careers,” PM Modi tweeted.

Arun Jaitley, who was Finance Minister in the previous government, had on Wednesday written to PM Modi that he wanted to opt out because of his poor health. Sushma Swaraj too, had cited her health for not contesting elections this time.

So, PM Modi is expected to announce new Finance and Foreign Ministers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *